

AMERICAN OTOLOGICAL SOCIETY, INC.

136th ANNUAL SPRING MEETING

The American Otological Society, Inc., recently completed a successful 136th Annual Meeting in Nashville, Tennessee, under the leadership of the President, Dr. Horst R. Konrad. We wish to thank Dr. Konrad for an outstanding program. The members and their guests had a very enjoyable evening at the President's reception/banquet and dance on Saturday evening.

AOS welcomed seven new Active Members to the

Society – Drs. Howard W. Francis, Michael H. Fritsch, Michael E. Hoffer, Christopher J. Linstrom, Gary F. Moo G. Mark Pyle, Michael J. Ruckenstein.

One Associate Member - Dr. John J. Rosowski

Two Corresponding Members - Drs. Sandra G. Desa Souza and Olivier Sterkers.

In Memoriam:

Recently deceased members of the Society:

Dr. Ruth Gussen was an Associate member of AOS since 1977. The last known family address was 620 Clifton, Beverly Hills, CA 90210.

Dr. Franklin M. Rizer was killed in a plane crash on March 20, 2003. Dr. Rizer was an Active member of AOS since 1999. He also served as the AOS Webmaster. The last known family address was 469 Country Club Drive, Warren, OH 44484.

The Council extends their sympathy to the families of Dr. Gussen and Dr. Rizer.

Research Fund Report

The market value of the research fund as of March 31, 2003, was \$6,903,772. Four grants (and 1 alternate), one research fellowship, and one clinician-scientist award renewal were funded for 2003-2004 in the amount of \$269,264.

Clinician-Scientist Award

Dr. Charles Della Santina from Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine received the Clinician-Scientist Award for his research entitled, "Electrical Stimulation for Restoration of Vestibular Function" (renewal) \$80,000.

Research Grant Recipients

Asim Haque, MSE (Central Institute for the Deaf, Washington University) "Vestibular gaze behavior following Meniere's treatment regimens" \$35,000.

Brain Faddis, Ph.D. (Washington University) "Role of glutamate receptors in NOS1– mediated bone resorption in the ear" \$39.959

Jiang Li, MD (University Of California, San Francisco) "Role of aquaporins (AQPs) in Meniere's disease" \$34,738.

Margaret I. Lomax, PhD—(University of Michigan) "Role of Noggin in Ear Development" (renewal) \$40,000.

Jeffrey Vrabec, MD (Baylor College of Medicine) "Genetic analysis of Meniere's disease" \$39,567.

Larry Hoffman, Ph.D. (University of California, Los Angeles) "Response dynamics of vestibular afferents in hydropic guinea pigs" (alternate) \$39,998.

AOS Bylaws—Attendance at Annual Meetings

7.7.0 Attendance. Any active member who has absented himself or herself from three consecutive annual meetings without reason satisfactory to the Council shall be dropped from membership in the Society and shall be notified to that effect by the Secretary-Treasurer. Any member so dropped from membership may be reinstated only by three-fourths vote of the council on the presentation of valid justification for such reinstatement.

Membership

The Society is pleased to report a total of 302 members. The goal is to grow the Society appropriately, keeping the standards high for AOS membership

September 1, 2003, is the deadline for submitting membership applications for candidates to be inducted into the 2004 Annual Meeting.

Only Active and/or Senior members may propose a candidate for membership. The application for membership for all candidates must be completed in English, signed, and accompanied by the proposal letters and mailed to the AOS Administrative Office at 2720 Tartan Way, Springfield, IL 62707.

The AOS membership application form is available on the AOS website: www.americanotologicalsociety.org.

If you would like a membership application mailed to you, please call the AOS Administrative Office at (217) 483-6966 and leave your name and address, and we will forward application to you. You may e-mail your request for a membership application to segossard@aol.com

Deceased Members: We are asking members to notify the AOS Administrative Office if you know of a member listed on the membership roster who is deceased. We need the date of death, current address of the family, and any pertinent information you may have regarding the deceased member.

Call for Papers

October 15, 2003, is the deadline for submission of abstracts for the May 1-2, 2004, Annual Meeting in Phoenix, Arizona.

The American Otological Society encourages on-line submission of abstracts. The AOS approved abstract format follows the same format as utilized by Otology & Neurotology. Two approved methods for submitting abstracts:

www.americanotologicalsociety.org

E-mail: segossard@aol.com

AOS Tie

The AOS Council has designed an AOS tie with the AOS logo and will be available for purchase at a cost of \$45. An order form is enclosed. Each new member will receive a tie with the cost added to the induction fee for the new member.

Active Members' Annual Dues: Enclosed is an invoice for the Active members' dues for 2003-04. We would appreciate payment of your dues within 30 days of receipt of this invoice.

A copy of the minutes of the Annual Meeting at the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, Nashville, Tennessee, is enclosed.

AOS Website

Dr. Nikolas Blevins will be assuming the role of the AOS Webmaster. Watch for new enhancements and additional services to the members.

www.americanotologicalsociety.org

O&N Website

The O&N website now has back issues of the Journal available to 1990. This is a benefit of AOS membership.

www.otology-neurotology.com/

AOS Officers & Council Members 7/1/2003—6/30/2004

President - .Jeffrey P. Harris, M.D., Ph.D. President-Elect & Editor-Librarian - Sam E. Kinney, M.D. Secretary-Treasurer - Clough Shelton, M.D. Editor-Librarian-Elect - C. Phillip Daspit, M.D.

Council Members
Richard A. Chole, M.D., Ph.D.
Horst R. Konrad, M.D.
John K. Niparko, M.D.
Antonio De La Cruz, M.D.

137th ANNUAL SPRING MEETING

Mark your calendar now and plan to attend the 137th American Otological Society's Annual Meeting to be held in Phoenix, Arizona, at the J.W. Marriot Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, May 1-2, 2004. Scientific Sessions will be held on Saturday afternoon and Sunday morning. The President's Banquet will be held on Sunday evening, May 2, 2004.

Change of Address: Please notify the AOS Administrative Office at 2720 Tartan Way, Springfield, IL 62707, or e-mail, segossard@aol.com, any change in your address, phone/fax number, or e-mail. If you have recently acquired an e-mail address, please forward to the AOS office so we may record in our database.